Skip to content ↓
Willow Farm Primary School

Willow Farm Primary School


We aim to provide all children with a broad and balanced experience in accordance with the National Curriculum. Our school teaches all the National Curriculum subjects, together with R.E. and Health Education and PSHE/RSHE. The National Curriculum subjects being English, Mathematics and Science as core subjects and History, Geography, Physical Education, French, Music, Art and Computing as Foundation subjects. All subjects are taught individually so children can grasp the key skills and knowledge for each subject.

In addition to the above subjects, we focus on children’s spiritual, moral, social, and cultural development (SMSC) through enriching the curriculum in a variety of ways, including involvement in the local, national and international communities.

Our curriculum design consists of each year group having an overview that runs over a yearly cycle. We have clarity over the key knowledge that we want the children to learn as we believe that a focus on knowledge will enable children to develop higher order skills.

Each subject has a 'Curriculum elements document' that allows teachers to clearly see the design of that particular subject and how we intend to teach this throughout school. Some subjects such as History and Geography have a 'Lens' element, the idea is that children will approach those subjects through the eyes of a geographer or a historian using a subject specific lens. These lens' contain the disciplinary concepts for that subject.

Each subject has a termly overview and a progression map, so it is clear what is being taught in each year group and how knowledge and skills are built upon in each year throughout school.

In school, we are using Knowledge Organisers and spaced retrieval techniques to ensure children are applying the knowledge and skills learnt to deepen their understanding and have the confidence to make links between their learning.

Foundation Stage Curriculum

Children in the Early Years Foundation Stage are taught using the EYFS Curriculum.

EYFS is split into 7 areas of learning which split into prime and specific areas of


The Prime areas are;

* Communication and language

* Physical development

* Personal social and emotional development

The specific areas are;

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design

We have carefully considered how knowledge in the Early Years curriculum feeds into learning through the rest of school.